One step closer…

bergamo mura

Last year, I had the good fortune to walk into a dealer and order a ‘premium’ brand, new car. I was fully expecting great service and customer support from the company, and the whole process from ordering to picking up the car didn’t disappoint. The staff were attentive, courteous and above all, passionate about the cars and the company they worked for. That sort of passion is infectious, and could be one of the reasons why I would buy one of these cars again (the fact that it drives really well and hasn’t let me down also helps!).

This week, I had the good fortune to pick up the phone and start the ordering process for a ‘premium’ brand, new bike frame. And the experience didn’t disappoint. The guys at Legend UK have been a pleasure to deal with. Their infectious passion for Legend and Marco has made me even more excited about my purchase.

I could have gone to one of the great dealers that represent Legend, but as I live in Yorkshire, they are a bit of a drive away. I’m not too far from Leeds Bradford Airport, so it makes sense to get a cheap flight to Bergamo and visit Marco and the factory. I’ve never been to Bergamo, so my wife Jo and I are going to make it a midweek break. When she heard that we could get a quick train to Milan, she was all up for the idea of joining me. She can then experience the buzz of walking into a ‘premium’ brand fashion store.

Peter and Ali at Legend UK can organise a full trip to the factory, but I decided to sort my own flights out. However I did take them up on their recommendation of where to stay. They have about three great places to stop, but we liked the look of the Agriturismo Casa Clelia. A stunning, rustic B&B in the little village of Sotte Il Monte, with, by all accounts, a great restaurant. Casa Clelia is also Peter’s favourite. After trawling the area to find suitable places to stay (with the required standards for their Legend ‘concierge’ service), Legend UK chanced apon this little gem. It’s in a perfect location, a few miles away from Legend in Presezzo, but also with easy access to Bergamo and it’s airport.

I let Peter sort all the accommodation and factory visit, and luckily they had a slot at Legend in two weeks time, that coincided with a visit from Velo Solutions. Meaning I can get fitted by Giuseppe, but with input from Marco as well. If I can’t get a perfect fitted bike with these two genius watching over me, then heaven help me!

So I now have the agonising wait. Like a little child getting excited a month before the visit of Santa, I’m counting down the days…

2 thoughts on “One step closer…

  1. I have been following your blog for quite a while now, and I am very happy for you that your dream is about to come true. Be sure to keep us updated on how things are going, and do make a lot of pictures on your trip!

Leave a Reply

